Today is Saturday.  Well, really tomorrow is because I am writing this Friday night.  The boys are out on dates and I know I will be working tomorrow and when I come home I will want to spend time with them.  Well, and the dogs.  I have the most comical dogs in the world, I think.  I have a yellow lab that has been with us for 10 years named Atlas and a Yorkie named Felix who is about 6 months old.  They crack me up.

Me too

Those two dogs have about as much personality as my two boys do.  They are always into something and always annoying each other…Yup, just like the boys.

While we are waiting for Sunday’s adventure, (which I am really excited about), here is a photo that I took at a cemetery right by the house while I was on a walk with Sterling.

DSC_0009

I have to say…some of the best talks with Sterling have been while we are walking.  Nothing is off limits.  Spencer and I find other times to talk, but it is much the same.  I love the fact that they will tell me a lot of things that boys don’t usually tell their moms.  We talk about everything: their plans, their hopes, their dreams, their fears…I know that they keep things to themselves but at least they let me in.

Life is short.  Well, not really, it just seems that way because we don’t realize that we should treasure certain moments until they are passed.  The reason that I bring this up is because I hope that everyone takes the time to walk and talk with their children.  (Or whatever it is you guys do).  I hope they tell you what is on their mind and in their hearts.  I hope you get to share the kind of memories with your kids that I am making with mine.  If you don’t, they will be gone before you know it.  Take the time to get to know your kids…you never know, you might learn that they are amazing people.  I know that my boys amaze and surprise me constantly.  I know that someday they will be amazing men.  And not just because they are my boys.  They are just good people.  Thank goodness.  I mean, parenting doesn’t really come with a manual, so at least I haven’t totally messed up yet.  Not with my daughter and so far not with my boys.  Life may be short, but right now it is really good.

Leave a Reply

