History

We finished off the day by heading to Lauderdale, MS and Scooba, MS.  Both places have really cool old buildings.  By this time I think we were just worn out from all the excitement.  In fact, I think there were a couple naps taken on the way.  I was actually looking for a cemetery in Lauderdale, but did not find it.  What I did find were cool buildings by the railroad tracks.

4-3-16 (134)

They were posted so we didn’t go up to them and get any cool pictures with the boys.  From here we decided that we were hungry and moved on to Scooba and made a pit stop.  Now, Scooba, from the pictures I have seen was once a thriving town.  Sadly, there is not a lot left of the original town.  There is a college there now, so the town is not dying; but it is not what it once was.  I found these photos that show just how thriving Scooba was.

4-3-16 (142)

The above is Scooba today.  Well, part of it anyway.

All in all, I would say that the day was a good one.  We had some fun, got into some trouble, and all got tired out.  We made memories that will last and these photos will help the memories not to fade away into dust.  We hung out together on a Sunday afternoon and history was so close we could and did touch it.  Sometimes the history was a palpable presence and other times it was like the lingering aroma of a home cooked meal; comforting in a way but in another it makes you realize that you have missed out on something awfully good.  Next week we are off with just boys to another set of adventures.  Stay tuned to see where they will lead us.

Until then, I want to leave you with a look into the possibilities of the future.

4-3-16 (148)

There is our tomorrow.  There is our future.  I love each and every one of them, (and Morgan too) for different reasons.  Chryslynn and Morgan are making my boys happy right now and they are bringing a different perspective to our lives.  They are good girls.  Brady, he has been a friend to both my boys for a lot of years now.  Brady is like another son to me and he is kind and thoughtful.  He can also get into just as much trouble as my boys can.  He brings laughter to our lives and is just a kind soul.  I am proud to know him and can’t wait to see what he does in life.  And then there are my two sons, Spencer and Sterling.  I am so proud of both of them.  They are both funny and kind, caring and fair.  They both work hard and have good values.  I am lucky to have been chosen to be their mom.  I don’t want them to grow and move away, but I can’t wait to see the great things that they will do with their lives.  I am truly blessed to be surrounded by such a good group of teenagers.  They give me hope that our future can be as great as our past has been.  Our adventures are just beginning.

Leave a Reply

