Putting it out there

Someone told me once, that if you can’t say something nice then you shouldn’t say nothing at all. I’m sure it was my grandmother that said that, she was a very smart lady. Someone told me today that their blog has been criticized, pretty harshly from the sounds of it, by someone. I can understand criticism. I really can, I welcome criticism at times, learning new things would be hard without it.  However, one thing that I think people have forgotten is that when you criticize someone you need to do it in a way that they can learn from and not take away a bad experience. Criticisms, just like opinions, are going to vary depending on the person, really, a criticism is no more than someone’s opinion and, I think we as a society have gotten too free  with our opinions. Opinion is a good thing to have when it’s useful, but just to criticize someone to tear them down is not a productive use of your opinion.
you see, what people fail to realize, is that when we write something, we are really putting ourselves out there. It’s kind of like running around the yard in your underwear, Knowing that everyone can see you. probably not something that everyone wants to do every day. Yet here we go every day we post something on our blog. I may only have five readers, but that’s five people that saw me running around in my underdrawers. probably not a picture that you actually want to think about. I do you know that it is a feeling that takes some getting used to. I mean, what if these people absolutely hate what I’m saying. What if they think that I’m the stupidest person in the world. I know that, in the big scheme of things it really doesn’t matter however, what if someone has some scathing words for what I just wrote. Are my feelings going to be hurt, most definitely.
another thing that I do that is similar to the point that I’m trying to make is, I exercise with an exercise pole. Some people might call that a stripper pole, and that’s fine. I know how much strength it takes to hold myself on the pole and climb up and down that pole. since I train at home, I use Instagram as my classroom. I regularly post pictures of myself exercising on my pole. And, luckily I have yet to run across anyone that is small or narrowminded. Therefore, I have not had to deal with the criticism that I see some other girls and guys having to deal with. This is much the same thing. If you don’t like something, just don’t read it or don’t look at the pictures or don’t click on that blog. Pretty simple really.
I just want to leave everyone with one thought, since this is kind of an unusual post for me to make. If everyone just followed my grandmas advice and really follow the Golden rule, then we wouldn’t be having this conversation. please, think about the person on the other end of the computer screen, they have feelings and emotions just like you do.
and just for good measure, here is a picture of me recently. Like it, Don’t like it, this is Who I am. I’m an exercising, adventuring mom of three kids that just happens to like putting it out there. and I’m OK with that.

2 thoughts on “Putting it out there

Leave a Reply

