First Love

Since yesterday’s post was pretty much the end of our adventure I thought I would post some recent pictures that I had not posted yet.  Well, as I was looking through my pictures I cam across the pics I took of my boys and their girlfriends and it reminded me of first love.

DSC_0047

This is my oldest son and his girlfriend.

 

Sterling 15th Birthday (19)And my youngest son and his.

First love…everyone has had one and it may not be your very first girlfriend or boyfriend either.  Mine wasn’t.  It is that guy or girl that totally makes up your whole world (or so you think).  It is that person that you would do anything for and it kills you to be away from.  It is a fire that burns so hot that you are afraid you will spontaneously combust. It can be the heartbreak that lasts forever and it is that one love that you never forget.

I can still very clearly recall my first love.  I still think of him fondly and often.  And even though I love my husband more than anything and I have been with him for nearly 20 years, I still love my first love.  It may be a different kind of love, but it is love nonetheless.  I hope my boys…including Brady, get to have that all-encompassing love that I felt for my first love.  I hope they get to live life to the fullest; including all the joys and sorrows of that kind of love.  Sometimes it works out forever and sometimes it doesn’t.  I hope they get to find out.  Loving someone with your whole heart is never a mistake and it is an experience that is not to be missed.  There is nothing like it in the world.  Unconditional love is something that is a miracle to be given and to give…I hope they get the chance.

Are these girls the ones?  I don’t know.  I know that they are both lovely and they make my boys happy right now.  So, I will watch and wait and cry a little for the children that are growing up and slowly leaving me.

As for my first love…I hope he is happy.  I hope life has brought him all that he can wish for.  I hope he found a love like I did.  I hope he knows that I love him for the time we had together.  I hope his life is as full as mine is…it is partly because of him that my cup runneth over.  Someday I hope my daughter and my boys can say the same.

Leave a Reply

