Enterprise

Sometimes there are things that we see everyday but don’t really think about.  We take them for granted.  Things we pass daily, things that have always been there and people too.  The next bridge we stopped at was in Enterprise.  I know, we have been to Enterprise before but we didn’t take a second look at this bridge.

DSC_0010_Fotor1

Once again, according to Bridgehunter.com this is a Warren Truss Pony Bridge.  It was bypassed in 1986 and put on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988.  This bridge was beyond cool and once again there was no way to get on it.  The approaches had been removed.  There was a ladder and a walkway, but there was also a padlock and a metal door covering the ladder.  I am guessing that they don’t want anyone on the bridge!

DSC_0013

The bridge sits there, watching time pass and as I said, we all take it for granted.  It has always been there.  Unfortunately we have all been too guilty of doing this.  In my own life, there are times that I take lots of things for granted.  My boys being around, my husband, my very freedoms.  It has all been there for so long that I expect it to continue the way it is.  I expect my husband and I to be able to work out any disagreements that we have…that can change though.  There could be a day when we can’t see eye to eye anymore…not saying it is happening, but it could.  My boys will leave someday.  I hope it is later rather than sooner, but it is a fact of life: Someday they will leave and start their own lives.  And my freedoms could be taken away tomorrow.  The men and women who fought and died so that I can write this could have their sacrifice negated.  If we continue to do nothing it could happen.  Not saying it will, but it could.

Taking things for granted is a dangerous business, simply because you might wake up one day and they may be gone.  Then what will  you do?  No one has a plan for what happens when something is gone, I mean, it has always been there.  The thing that we have taken for granted leaves a hole when it is taken away, this I do know.  I think I will start making more notice of things and trying to appreciate them more.  I am truly blessed and I am sure that you are too.  Those are things that we are not promised, simply things that we have: waking up each day, time to spend, love to give and receive…the list can go on and on.

Take the time to appreciate the things that have always been there as well as the things that are new in your lives, I know I am going to try in mine.  I already know that my time with my boys is limited.  I need to make the most of each day I have with them…No, I need to make the most of each and every day with each and every person in my life.  I only get one shot at this life, I want to make it a good one.  I hope you do too.

2-28-16 (14)

Leave a Reply

