Monday

Well, it’s Monday again. The state of the world is still the same… Pretty terrible right this second, but each day we have to get up, we have to go to work, we have to do our chores, feed our family. There are things that we have to do each day as adults and it doesn’t really matter what the state of the world is.

  Mondays are kind a like a reset. You have a whole new week laid out in front of you and you know there are certain things you have to do, and certain things that will happen, but otherwise there it is a blank slate for you to do whatever you want.  You can paint your week with what ever color you wish. It can be gray and old, or can be vibrant and colorful.  It is entirely up to you how you go forward from today. Each day is like that, but Monday is the first day of the week and has a special restart ability. 

Each one of us has the ability to make our world what we want it to be in some small way. Even if you feel powerless there is something that you have control over. There is someway that you can change your environment. If we all took a minute, and thought, really thought about changing things for the better Imagine what the world could be. We waste too much time thinking things like; this person’s out to get me, or how can I get this for nothing, or how can I beat the system, or what’s in it for me, or I don’t have enough time to help this person. Imagine if we spent just a little bit of our day thinking how can I help this person, what can I do to give back, what can I do to make someone’s day better and then we actually did it. It might be something so simple as smiling at someone and asking them how their day was and actually listening to the answer. It might be something so small as caring about what someone else has to say, listening with an open mind to their point of view. Or even buying someone a cuppa coffee. It doesn’t have to be something big, in fact big things rarely change the world, it’s a compilation of little things that ordinary people do very often. ordinary people that actually give a darn about other people, ordinary people that help each other, ordinary people that look at the bigger picture, not just what’s in it for them these are the things that change the world. 

Sure, life is work, and changing things is work, and there are often growing pains that go along with change. Change is never pretty and there is always resistance to change, mostly because people are scared. The unknown is scary, and change is scary, but if we just let our fears overwhelm us, and we don’t change and we stay with the same thing we’ve always had then the wonders that could be we will never know. For me, as most of you who read this blog now, I am not opposed to change. Sometimes, it takes me a little bit to get there, but I sure do love an adventure. And really, that’s all that change is. It’s just one more adventure on this big adventure that we call life. So, I hope that you make this Monday an amazing one, I hope that you paint this next week with bold vibrant colors and make it something amazingly different than anything you’ve ever done before. Even if it’s just one small change, take a chance, what have you got to lose. And maybe if we all make one small change then maybe the rest of the world will too. And maybe I won’t have to worry about what kind of world I am leaving for my boys. Maybe, just maybe, if we all make one small change towards the good then maybe we won’t have to worry about gun control, or any regulations that the government might shove down our throats because we will have figured it out. We will have figured out that the guy next to me is not that bad, and the person that I’m talking to maybe having a bad day, and I should listen to what they say. Maybe if we treat each other the way we would like to be treated then there won’t be any need for any of this uproar. And maybe, that’s just wishful thinking on my part. 

For me though, I will continue to teach my children to treat everyone the way they wish they would be treated, and to never judge someone unless you’ve walked a mile in their shoes. That’s what my grandma taught me, and it serve me pretty well. I told you she was one smart lady. Have a great week everyone. 

One thought on “Monday

Leave a Reply

