Thinking

Today at work has been all about learning to do my job better…or watching videos. Not my favorite thing but necessary. Being in finance there are always things to learn and being new means there are lots of things to learn and ways to say things. 

But, I have to say that about 2:30 in the afternoon my mind began to wander. I started thinking about scenes like this one:


This was a very real scene from my vacation not that long ago.   My heart sometimes longs for that lake. Or maybe it is really a longing for the possibilities that await me there. There is a certain peace that I find up there, I think it has to do with all the nature and wilderness around me, for me it feels like the closest I can be to God. There is a certain perfection in nature, a certain peace, and I am exactly who and where I need to be when I am in it. This is why I like my adventures so much, but that lake…  The rhythm matches your breath, the sound of the waves crashing into the shore resonates through your entire being. There is nothing else like it, for me. 

Right now the current plan is one day to move up to the UP. When is in the air but the plan is there. It is like a tiny glowing kernel of hope that serves to warm my heart when the days get long.  When the road gets hard all I have to do is lift my head above the daily mire to see the end result. Will I miss Mississippi, most definitely. I do love it here but I can feel this chapter of my life slowly ending. Now I am not thinking today or tomorrow…but someday. 

Until that someday I will continue to enjoy my adventures here in Mississippi. Mississippi has become such a part of my soul too. Her soothing rhythms and graceful ways. Her charm and history have captured my heart and mind. I have learned about her past and she has taught me about my present.  Each day spent in this state, for me, has been like being embraced by a parent. Comforting,  nurturing and protective. Allowing me to be who I am while teaching me who I can be. Yes, I will miss this place and part of my heart will always be here, but life is about change and it will happen no matter what. I may as well make it a change that will be as much of an adventure as my life has been so far. I am looking forward to whatever tomorrow brings as long as my husband and I face it together; just like we have for the past 20 years. 


There were absolutely no guarantees when we started. We just forge our way through the . Past 20 years, sometimes with Brute force and sometimes with finesse.  As long as we are together, I know we can tackle whatever Comes. And I am thinking, that what lies ahead of us is going to be more amazing than the road we’re just getting off of. 

OK, it’s time to pack up and head home. I think that is enough deep thought for one afternoon.  I hope everyone has a good night and I will talk to you all soon

Leave a Reply

