Today’s Thought

This morning I am making a fast entry but I found a quote that I want to share with my boys when they get home tonight:

“The best remedy for those who are afraid, lonely or unhappy is to go outside, somewhere where they can be quite alone with the heavens, nature and God. Because only then does one feel that all is as it should be and that God wishes to see people happy, amidst the simple beauty of nature. As longs as this exists, and it certainly always will, I know that then there will always be comfort for every sorrow, whatever the circumstances may be. And I firmly believe that nature brings solace in all troubles.”
Anne Frank, The Diary of a Young Girl

It amazes me to find quotes that think exactly what I am thinking.  As I look out my window this morning, yes it is rainy but if you look past all of that there is a beauty that waits for someone to see it.  Happiness is there waiting for us to grab hold of with both hands.  It makes me positive that no matter what the outcome, everything will work out the way it is meant to.  Each choice we make may put us on a different path, but in the end things always seem to work out, in the end happiness is waiting for us to notice it and pick it up.

Nature has a way of refreshing my soul, my spark, my want to…it recharges me.  Maybe that is because I don’t let the world intrude for that little bit of time, or maybe it is something like meditation or prayer…I am not smart enough to know the whys of it, I just know that watching the waves ripple across the pond, hearing the wind come through the trees, watching the clouds build before a storm, or even watching the dragonflies flit about from flower to flower soothes something inside of me.  Maybe it is just taking a minute to let my mind unwind.

I believe that it is a healthy thing to do, however you do it and I want to make sure the boys remember to take the time out of their lives to recharge, relax and just be.  Be happy, be soothed, be sad, just be.  Remember things from the past and people who have meant something to you.  Just take a breath.  I really hope they will.

Speaking of the boys, I am pretty sure that Sterling made the cross-country team yesterday…he ran 6 miles in 48 minutes.  Faster than anyone else, including those who have been on the team before.  I am so unbelievably proud of him.  He set a goal and (hopefully, we will find out today) achieved it.  Way to go buddy!!

I hope you all take the time to see the beauty around you today.  Here are a couple shots to get you on your way.  Have a super day everyone!!

8-10-16 (5)_Fotor8-10-16 (8)_Fotor

Leave a Reply

