Quote for the day

Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it.  Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. –Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

I have loved that quote ever since the first time I saw it.  I was 25 years old and wandering around the streets of Tokyo and happened upon a clothing store.  Inside, written on the wall I found that quote.

img_2467

Those words struck a chord with me.  Whatever you can do or dream you can begin it, I really did have the power to change my course in life.  Boldness has Genius, Power and Magic in it.  I just had to have the strength to make the change.  I had to be Bold.  It is hard sometimes to be bold, hard to make a change.  We get so used to our routine that change becomes this scary thing.  We forget that we are capable of so much more.  We forget that we deserve so much more.  We forget that we can accomplish anything we dream if we put forth the effort.  To be bold, that is something.  The dictionary defines someone who is bold in the following way; (Of a person, action, or idea) showing a willingness to take risks; confident and courageous.  Are we bold as a society today?  Are we willing to take a risk and make a change?  And most importantly, are we willing to accept the results of the risk we choose to take.  I think the courageous part of this whole thing is knowing that something may or may not turn out as you expect and going for it anyway.  I think maybe that is really what this quote means to me.

What I will tell the boys about this quote is this:  YOU have the power to change the course of your life, but you must also accept the consequences of your actions, be they good or bad.  By taking control of your own life you are creating your own kind of magic.  My boys are familiar with this quote, I am just not sure we have ever discussed it’s meaning.  I know they are VERY familiar with my thoughts on this though.  I think, and try to live this way, if I do something I MUST hold MYSELF accountable for the outcome.  There, that is it in a nutshell.  Decide to do something and do it.  There is a certain magic and power in being the driver of your own life.  I won’t say genius, because I have made far too many wrong turns to wear that label.  It gives you faith in yourself.  It empowers you.  To realize that you can determine your destiny is a huge thing…An even bigger thing is giving yourself over to fate.  Realizing that there are reasons for all outcomes.  Trying to find the lessons that the hard times teach us.  Realizing that maybe you have to endure to become.

My childhood was filled with hurts.  My mom did the best she could, but I still came out scarred.  She came out of her childhood scarred as well.  I was angry for a long time.  I began a journey to where I am today when my daughter was born.   This quote was a huge signpost along the way.  Had I not gone through everything, had I not found this quote I don’t think I would be quite the same person that I turned out to be.  This quote started me on the path of taking control of my life.  It started me on the path of realizing that I CAN’T is not acceptable to me.  It started me on the path of making sure that I always leave it all on the floor.  Now, that doesn’t always work, but I try.  And it started me on the path of realization that I could be bold.  I really don’t think I am courageous, but I AM willing to take risks…and I will take the consequences that go along with them.  If that is courage, well, then maybe I am courageous…NAH.  I am just trying to live my life the best way I know how and lead my family by example.  I often fall, but I always get back up.  I only want my children to do the same.

I hope that each of you are Bold, at least a little.  I hope that all of you feel the magic of that action.  Until next time, here are a couple of shots from a trip to Tokyo long ago.





Such a long time ago and yet this quote still affects my life every day.

Have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

