Today’s Quote

Sunday is rapidly approaching and Sterling and I are headed off on an excellent adventure that we have planned.  The pictures and hopefully the stories will be awesome!  So, until then here is a quote I found that is a good reminder for all of us:

-I believe that everything happens for a reason.  People change so that you can learn to let go, things go wrong so that you appreciate them when they’re right, you believe lies so you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself, and sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.-    Marilyn Monroe

When I was younger, no way I believed that. But, I didn’t believe a lot of things when I was younger. I didn’t understand that sometimes people were sick, and sometimes they didn’t know how to take your little kids and maybe they were doing the best that they could. I didn’t understand that someone could love me, even though I didn’t love myself.  I didn’t understand any of this, not when I was younger. And now, that I am much older I wonder why everyone can’t see the simplicity of this one simple “. It is kind of how I live my life, and it is kind of how I was actually taught. Everything happens for a reason.  I actually, used to think that there was no way that there could be a God that loved us with all the bad stuff that happens. People die, little kids are abused, bad stuff happens to good people all the time. And, more often than not bad guys get away with it. But, things in my life have shown me, that this is actually true, everything truly does happen for a reason.  

I now believe that everything happens for a reason.  I also believe that everyone we meet we meet for a reason. Sometimes the things that happened of the people that we meet are great, and sometimes they are awful. But if we didn’t meet them, then we wouldn’t have the same experience as if we did meet them. Life is too short, to not enjoy and fully appreciate every experience that we have. I for one, I’m headed to work right now, and along the way I’m noticing everything. There’s such beauty, even in neglect. There are trees that I see that are starting to turn different colors, there are drops of water from last nights rain that are stubbornly clinging to leaves and branches, there are beautiful birds that are taking flight right in front of me, there is a blue sky and gray clouds above me. There is also green as far as I can see, and highway that is nearly empty stretching out in front of me. Right now I’m on this highway for a reason, most likely to go to work, but there might be another reason.  We just don’t know.

I’m hoping, that tomorrow there’s no rain. And things are perfect for our adventure. If there is rain, well we’ve been wet before. And, sometimes it just adds to the adventure. The main thing though, is we are going to see something amazing and I’m getting to see it with my son. I’ve asked my husband if he wants to go, but I don’t hold out too much hope that he will actually go. I’ve invited my oldest son too, however like his father, I don’t hold out a lot of hope that he will go either. So, most likely tomorrow will be just Sterling and I. It’s a little sad, but it’s the way that things are. And there’s a reason for that too.

I guess the point behind all of this rambling today is just this: if everything happens for reason, then trust that you are exactly in the right place and where you are supposed to be when you are supposed to bethere. Trust that you will get through whatever it is you’re going through, and everything is going to turn out the way that it was meant to. Also, remember that each experience as a lesson. Maybe it’s a lesson in happiness, and maybe it’s a lesson of something not to do again, but whatever it is you’re having that experience for reason. Make the most of it. As I’ve said before pretty soon you wake up, and what was yesterday is now 20 years in the past. This past year has taught me that. Time is very very funny thing; days that seem to go by so slowly sometimes are actually passing by so rapidly that if you blink they will be gone. And I just don’t want my children to miss one experience in life. Life is amazing! Life is full of all kinds of things that should make us wonder every day. Things we take for granted. Things we forget to stop and notice. Money is very important thing, but we get so wrapped up in work and paying the bills and raising the kids and getting a better car and getting ahead that we forget to notice all of the things all around us. I was guilty of that for some time, not anymore. I see wonder everywhere. And I don’t want to let one miracle pass by without me noticing it because we ARE faced with miracles every single day.  My wish for you today, is to experience one miracle, and really notice that it’s happening. When a miracle happens right in front of you and you don’t see it; that to me is sad. So I hope each and every one of you experience life to the fullest. I hope that each and everyone of you realize that every thing happens for A reason, and I hope each and everyone of you understand the reason that something happens.

Have a great Saturday everyone, and I won’t talk to you until probably Monday, because hopefully tomorrow I will be off with my son having an amazing adventure. I hope each and everyone of you go out and have an amazing adventure today tomorrow and every day for the rest of your lives!

In the meantime here are a few random shots. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Today’s Quote

  1. Gena,

    I love your posts! And, I hope you and Sterling have an excellent adventure tomorrow! Good times!

    You’ve mentioned several times your growing up years were pretty tough. You’ve also mentioned how you’ve grown to accept things that you questioned. So, I’ve begun praying God will continue to open your eyes to new things, and bless you and your family richly in every way!

    On another note, the fuel pump on my bike is not working. Good news: I’ve learned to change the oil, spark plugs, air filter, etc. Bad news: I don’t want to tackle the fuel filter by myself. So, I may holler at you about brining the bike back in this next week.

    Thanks again for the posts, photos, and funnies!

    dg

    >

    Like

    • Dan,
      First off; thank you. I am really glad you are a buoying my posts. I enjoy yours as well.
      As far as my growing up, I only use it as a reference as to why I believe the things I believe now. My childhood was hard but I don’t regret it. It shaped who I am today. That being said, thank you for the prayers; everyone can always use more of them!!
      As to your motorcycle, just let me know and I will help you out with it. Remind me when you come in to tell you my other news…it is pretty awesome.
      Thank you for reading what I put out there; it makes it so much more worthwhile.

      Like

Leave a Reply

