Thinking about the Blues

For reasons that I will explain later I am thinking about Blues music today so here is an amazing quote I found:

“The great man say that life is pain,” Coydog had said over eighty-five years before. “That mean if you love life, then you love the hurt come along wit’ it. Now, if that ain’t the blues, I don’t know what is.”
Walter Mosley, The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey

I think that is one of the truest and most profound things I have read in awhile.  Sure life will give you pain, but that is part of living.  The pain turns into part of who you are.  Life shapes us in ways big and small and the pain in it is just part of it.  You can either embrace it or you can let it stop you.  I choose to love life and every sweet moment along with every pain filled moment that comes along with it.  There is so much wonder in the world and so much worth having and doing…not material things but life is so rich with experiences.  What is a little pain if I get to see the miracles that surround me each day.  The pain makes the joy that much sweeter.

Just wanted to share that.  No day off for me today, I have someone coming in so I will just say that I hope everyone has an amazing day today!!

4-10-16 (55)1

Leave a Reply

