New Ventures

About a month ago I applied for a job as a reporter for the Meridian Star.  It was a job I knew I was not going to get, but I applied anyway…you know, a nothing ventured, nothing gained sort of thing.  Well, I didn’t get the job, but they did ask me to do some freelance work.

So, the other day when I posted the quote about the Blues I was working on the first story.  It is nothing big, just a kind of what’s going on around town kind of thing, but to me it was huge.  I sat there with the email composed to send and I had actual butterflies in my stomach.  Putting myself out there here is one thing, this was something totally different.  I sat there for a minute wondering if I really wanted to hit send on that email and all the old doubts came creeping back in…the usual lineup.  Not good enough, terrible writing, won’t like it, are you crazy.  That last one did it.  Yes, I think I am a little crazy at times so…I hit send.  The editor liked it.  Said it was a good first effort and it got published in today’s paper.  Here is the story if you would like to read it, I am buying a hard copy of the Meridian Star today.

If you see me today and I am doing a jig, please understand.  At any rate, here is today’s quote:

-Happiness does not come from doing easy work but from the afterglow of satisfaction that comes after the achievement of a difficult task that demanded our best.   Theodore Isaac Rubin –

I think that is very true.  I love doing something that I thought I could not do.  Afterwards you have something to carry with you always.  Knowing that YOU did that.  Speaking of that, today’s picture is of the tunnel we rappelled down 90 feet in the pitch black earlier this spring.  That was definitely a I can’t believe I did that moment.  I hope each and every one of you get to bask in the afterglow of some satisfaction today, big or small…there is no feeling in the world quite like it.

033

2 thoughts on “New Ventures

Leave a Reply

