Thoughts for a Saturday

“WE DO NEED A RETURN TO INDIVIDUAL INTEGRITY, SELF-RELIANCE, AND OLD-FASHIONED GUMPTION. WE REALLY DO.”
ROBERT M. PIRSIG

Right now, I’m doing a side job for someone that I know. The only time I have to do the work is at night after I get off work. So, from about 7 o’clock to 10 o’clock I am sealing and varnishing beautiful woodwork. And during this time, I’m in the building by myself, and I don’t have the radio going, and it’s just quiet. It’s a good time to think about things, and usually I let my mind just go where it will. It’s funny how our minds do that. Sometimes I’ll  think about random thoughts. Things popping into my head that i ordinarily would not think of. But those thoughts must lies somewhere underneath our conscious mind. Some thing has caused me to think of that particular thought. And sometimes, it’s things that i haven’t thought of in years. People I knew, people that I’ve seen, place I’ve been, and lots and lots of memories.

As I was sealing  window trim last night, I got to thinking about something that someone had said to me the day before. I had told people at work that I would be going to a second job at night. And one of the people that I work with, has a little girl. I remember, when my daughter was young, and I was struggling financially… No, we were flat broke. There is nothing that I would not have done to make sure that she had everything that she needed. This person said to me, I just don’t know how you’re going to do two jobs. I didn’t really think too much of it at that minute, but it must’ve stuck in my subconscious because it came up later while I was sealing a door. My mind went back to that thought, and I thought in answer to her question I should’ve said, I don’t know how you could not. If I needed anything for my daughter I would work two or three or four jobs. I just don’t think that the younger generation quite understands the meaning of getting it done. We don’t seem to rely on ourselves anymore. If we have troubles that seem too large, instead of taking those troubles apart piece by piece we give up. I see it every day. Well, that’s not me. If I have a problem, I am going to work my way through it. If I have to give up something of myself to gain something for my family, then I’m going to do it. I can sleep later. I can rest later. I can do what I want to do later. I can do any or all of those things once my family is taken care of and once my promises are fulfilled. Because at the end of the day, I told this man that I would do his job. I may not of said the words I promise, but my grandma always told me that if you tell someone that you’re going to do something, if you give your word, then by gosh you better darn well do it. And I think she was right.

I sincerely hope, that my children understand the reason behind why I do things the way I do them. I hope they understand why I choose to go to work all day, and then work at night for this man. I hope they understand why I try and try and try and don’t give up until I see absolutely NO hope. Maybe I’m just stubborn, maybe I just don’t know when I’m beaten, but I really don’t think that those are the reasons. I’d like to think that I’m determined, and I stick to my word, and I figure it out. That’s what I miss most about people these days, the ability to figure it out and get it done. It seems that these days everyone is waiting for someone else to make a decision or get the job done. You see, if they wait for someone else to bail them out, then they don’t have to take responsibility for their actions. It will always be someone else’s fault. Well I’m sorry, if I make a mistake it’s my fault. If I screw up royally and end up on my butt well, then my butt is sore and I know next time what not to do. It’s all part of life, and learning. Or, it was when I was growing up. But, then again as we have discovered I am part of the older generation. I’m beginning to think that maybe we were the last of the best generation. I certainly hope not, I certainly hope that there are still people out there that know how to get things done but unfortunately, it seems that they are few and far between. I’m trying to teach these things to my children and for the most part, they seem to be learning them. So, maybe in the future when you need something done you’ll know who to call.

And any rate, that was kind of a rant. Which, is not really what I intended to write about this morning. But, I guess it needed to be said. somewhere in my subconscious that thought was rattling around and wanted out I guess. I hope everyone has an awesome Saturday and a safe Labor Day weekend. Enjoy your family, enjoy your well-deserved rest from the hard work that you do every day, and I will talk to you soon.

Until next time, here’s a quick shot that I took hope you enjoy it

Leave a Reply

