In the Wind

Today was my day off, I worked at the other job that I am doing right now, but that is ok.  That job is actually kind of relaxing.  My brain can run on autopilot as my hands do things that they have done hundreds of times before.  Cut it in, brush stroke up, brush stroke down, watch for runs, make sure it covers even…Not a lot of thought required to seal and varnish wood for me at this point in my life.  I have been painting for nearly 20 years now.  I should thank a few people for teaching me, like my friend Cindy Van Dee, and of course, John Rios.  There were others, but they were the ones that stand out the most.  I have always said that if you have  a skill like painting and you are good at it, you will never be hungry and you will never be able to forget the skill since there will always be someone wanting something done.  So far that has been true.

At any rate, I put in 6 hours there and then went to pick up Sterling from cross country practice, and Sterling had a plan…go home, shower and take a cruise in the Iroc with the top down.  I had been looking forward to this all day so that is what we did.  As we drove it was almost as if everything that had been weighing me down was lifted.  Who cares if I was working until 10:00 every night?  Who cares if my other job was slow?  I suddenly had no troubles and right there with Sterling was right where I was meant to be.  I smelled fresh cut hay as we passed a hay field, someone was firing up their barbecue grill and yet someone else was burning downed trees in their yard.  We passed pecan groves and old buildings and ponds and trees.  We laughed and we smiled and we sang along with the radio.  We just let go.  We talked about school and we talked about snowmobiling and we talked about nothing at all.  The road we took was one we hadn’t taken before and I have to say it was a good one.

At the end of the day it was a recharge of my battery.  It was a memory that I will be able to pull out the next time I am stressed.  It was an adventure, and it was perfect.  We had no plan, no schedule and that was perfect too.  So what I hope for you today is that you remember the feeling of being in the wind.  Remember the feeling of having all of your stress blown away.  Enjoy life because it is unfairly shorter than we think it is.  Enjoy the small moments because they rapidly pass and become might haves and wish I would haves.  Mostly take a moment to enjoy just being…being alive…being whatever you are or wherever you are…it is exactly perfect for you.  I hope all of you head out into the wind and let all your troubles blow away.

I probably won’t be writing too much until I get this painting job done, but I did take a couple cool shots tonight that I wanted to share with you.  I will talk to you all soon!!

dsc_0012dsc_0013

Leave a Reply

