Finished!!

True happiness comes from the joy of deeds well done, the zest of creating things new. Antoine de Saint-Exupery
Read more at: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/keywords/done.html-

Last night was my last night working for Mr. Terry.  His building is going to look amazing and I am happy to have had a part in that.   There is a certain satisfaction when you complete a job. Especially, since this job was all after work hours and on my days off. It may have been trying at times, and I may have been tired, but it was definitely worth it.

 Terry said to me that he was sure glad that I came along, because otherwise he might still be looking at having to do all the work that I did by himself. In total, I worked 47 hours, and the outcome was spectacular. The office is going to look amazing, and I had a part in that.

 I hope, if nothing else, my children saw that persistence, patience, determination and hard work have rewards all their own. Not only did I get a extra money but I got to Help another person achieve something that they wanted. Working at the Harley shop is kind of like that, but this was more satisfying. I worked with my hands it was physical labor, and it was so welcome. I had forgotten, how good physical labor can feel. It allows you to work your muscles, let your mind roam free, and brings with it a great satisfaction at the end of the day.  Taking pride in your accomplishments is not a bad thing. As long as you have done the best that you can do, then there’s nothing wrong with being proud of working hard. Unfortunately, I think A lot of people have forgotten that. I think, a lot of people have forgotten to be proud. Everyone expects something for nothing, they expect someone else to do the work, and they expect someone else to solve their problems. There is no pride in that. There is no dignity and letting others do everything for you. Now, obviously if you’re disabled and need someone to do something for you that’s a whole different story. Or, if someone wants to do something for you, that’s different as well. What I’m talking about is a healthy individual not wanting to do anything for themselves and thinking that it is OK for everyone else to step in and do their job for them. The jobs that go overseas, maybe there’s a reason for that. Maybe, if we got back some of our pride and our work ethic then employers wouldn’t mind paying higher wages. Maybe not, but at the end of the day I would much rather have worked really hard and accomplished a little then have accomplished a lot and not worked at all.

My boys, know how to work hard. They do it all the time. They may not see the beauty in hard work, but they know how to do it. My daughter, knows how to work hard. I’m not sure if she sees the beauty in it or not, I hope so. I know that is something that you only appreciate as you get older. Or, maybe some people never appreciated at all. I think maybe that’s the case, because I know a lot of people that would no more pick up a paintbrush or hammer or a saw or get their hands dirty then they would be seen naked in public. In fact, they might choose to be seen naked in public before they chose to do hard work. I find that sad. This country was built by people who worked really hard.  Now some people will say, that they had to. But I don’t think that diminishes their contribution, or their efforts. We’ve made great technological advances in our society, but at what cost? We have created a society where hard work and the people that do it are looked down upon. We have created a society where an entire generation expects the government, or some government program to take care of them. That’s not how I was raised. That’s not how I want my kids to be raised. That’s not the lesson that I want them to learn.

At the end of the day, we can only do what we can do. I can’t change the world. I can only change my little corner of it. And in my little corner of the world, my boys know how to work hard, my daughter knows how to work hard, I have helped someone achieve something that they wanted, and my job is over. It’s kind of sad to know that I won’t have to go and work with any more wood tonight, but it’s also a relief. And I have a sense of accomplishment. I got it done, no matter how tired I was, and no matter how late I had to work, I got the job done. And I think it looks pretty darn good. I didn’t Mean to turn this into a rant this morning. All I really wanted to say is that hard work has its own rewards. And that I’m finished, and that I’m back. Today, I’ll share with you a couple of pictures of the office that I did. I hope everyone has a great day, and I’ll talk to you next time.

2 thoughts on “Finished!!

Leave a Reply

