Plans

I am sitting here at the kitchen table, thinking about getting a cup of cappuccino as my family watches a movie in the living room of our little house up north.  Rainy weather has changed the plans that we had made last night for this morning.  The plan was to get up, and go riding…well, it is rainy and cold and while I would not get wet, the boys would most likely be miserable after a little bit.  So, we wait.  We had the thought of driving somewhere, but there is much indecision in the living room this morning.

Sometimes things don’t go according to plan.  Take Monday for instance.  I had planned on waking up, doing what needed to be done and then heading to Union Spring; something I was really hoping to see this trip.  At any rate, the appointment that I had was for after lunch so I went ahead and cleaned the entire house and waited.  Once the technician left I was anticipating heading to Union Spring and was hoping to get my family to go with me.  See, Monday was my birthday and that is what I was hoping to do.  Well, once again things did not go according to my plan.  My husband decided that we needed to go riding and so we went.  I have to say that at first I was a tad disappointed.  I mean, that is usually how we feel when things don’t go our way.  The really hard part is putting the disappointment aside and opening yourself up to the adventure that the change in plan leads to.  I did.  We rode and the day couldn’t have been more perfect.  It was warm, sunny and we were together.  My husband scared the tar out of me in the RZR from time to time, but that is normal.  Secretly I think he actually enjoys it.  We were out in the woods and we were together and that was all that mattered.

So no, things didn’t turn out the way I had envisioned, but the day was perfect just the same.  Life always happens as it is meant to and I guess that was how I was meant to spend that day.  I hope that each of you and all of my children will remember that plans change.  The coolest parts of life are sometimes those parts that we don’t plan for.  I mean, taking chances and actually living life means going off the plan.  I think sometimes off plan is the best place to be.

Until next time, here are a couple shots from Monday.  Have a great day everyone…I have to go, I think the rain might be stopping and adventure awaits!!

dsc_0077_fotordsc_0082_fotordsc_0086_fotordsc_0095_fotor

Leave a Reply

