Day 1 Continued

Sorry about the brevity of the last post.  I am telling you, getting back into the swing of things from vacation is not easy.  It doesn’t help that part of my mind and a lot of my heart are still in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.  I swear it is almost a magical place.  Each time I leave I wish more and more to stay… you know… 5 more minutes mom!  That kind of thing.  I am not sure what it is, I just love it there.  I mean it could be that it is an adventuring soul’s paradise and a photography nut’s paradise all rolled into one.  Who knows.  I just know that I can’t wait until Christmas when we return.

At any rate, after driving down the very gorgeous Boundary Road we ended up deciding that we were hungry so Rod took us to The Hoop N Holler.  Rod has been going to this place for years on snowmobile.  It is right on the shores of Lake Gogebic and was a great place.  There were pictures on the wall inside showing how long it had been there.  It is probably one of the most famous snowmobile stops in the midwest.  The food was good and the Iowa game was on, so it made it a nice stop.  Below is a shot of the lake behind the bar.

10-8-16-18

After fueling up we moved on to Bond Falls.  Bond Falls is gorgeous and it was definitely something that I wanted to make sure and show Rod’s parents.  The falls are a huge tourist attraction, but all that meant was that there was a nice pathway for them.  There were quite a few people, but you could still stand in awe of the beauty of the place.  I also visited it last winter and there were fewer people but the beauty was still there.  It is the kind of place that takes your breath away.

Here is a part of it in the winter.  These are actually upper falls.  I really didn’t get to see the big falls until now.

dsc_0096

This is the big falls.  It was amazing.10-8-16-14

Mother and son spending time together.10-8-16-17

That last picture is what life is really all about.  I kind of feel more of a kinship with Rod’s mom now more than I ever have.  My boys are slowly drifting off into their own lives, just like her son did.  I came in and became a large part of my husband’s world.  That has to be hard.  The time that they spend together now is precious to her, I know that.  I hope that there will be a lot more opportunities like this one.  I know I will see them for Thanksgiving here in Mississippi and hopefully in the Spring or Summer we can make it up to Michigan again.  As my boys grow older I hope that their wives or girlfriends understand how hard it is to let them go.  I didn’t, and for that I owe her an apology.  I do now.

You have to let them go and live their own lives, even if your heart is breaking and aching to see them go.  Even if you KNOW they are making a mistake, you have to let them make it.  You have to let them get hurt.  You have to let their hearts get broken.  You have to let them go.  Mothers have the hardest job in the entire world I think sometimes, yet at the same time it is the best.

As the day ended and we headed back to the house, the truck was full of happy thoughts, new memories and hope that it would happen again.  We spent the night laughing and talking and in the morning they made their way back to Iowa.  All in all it was a good way to start our time at our second home…with family all around us.  I hope you have an amazing day and spend at least part of it with the people that you love.  I will talk to you again soon.

Leave a Reply

