Unexpected

Today was Monday, October 10.  I had an appointment today with a repair person for the house, but after that I was going to round up the gang and we were going to so see Union Spring.  After all, it was my birthday and I was going to use that as leverage.   That is what I thought anyway, sometimes the best laid plans go awry.

While I waited for the repairman, I cleaned the entire house and had phone calls from Lia and from Brady wishing me a Happy Birthday.  I also had loads of Facebook friends doing the same.  It was kind of nice.  I mean, sometimes we tend to think that no one will think of us.  Annnnd, I was turning 45, I mean that is just a stone’s throw from 50.  My mood could have gone either way.  As it was, I was happy.  I was in my “Happy Place” as Randy says and I had cleaned the entire house, so that was a feeling of accomplishment and I had people that actually took a minute to think of me.  It makes you feel grateful for those people.

Anyway, after waiting until after noon on a gorgeous day, the repair man was finally getting ready to leave.  My husband pops his head in the door and says, “Let’s go ride.”  Wow, so not what I was wanting to do, but since I am easygoing, a pushover, take your pick, I said OK.  The temperatures were perfect, the sun was out and although it was not what I had planned on doing, it was something with my family.

Since it was the first day, we kind of took it easy, but we did find things to get into.  At one point we took a logging road and it started to get narrower and narrower.  I looked ahead and it looked to me like there was a cliff.  I usually don’t say a lot to Rod while he is driving, but I couldn’t help myself.  I announced very loudly, “You could probably STOP NOW!!”  Laughing he did and I was right, there was a good drop off not 5 feet in front of us.

All in all the day was perfect.  I may have gotten a year older when I woke up, but I don’t regret one minute of my life.  I don’t regret not going to Union Spring, I was out with my family having fun.  Rod may have spent a good portion of the day laughing at me, but that is okay too.

I have to make this kind of short, I am putting work off.  I have to be leaving soon, but I am glad I got to revisit that day just for a minute.  Here is a shot of the area by the cliff.  I hope each of you have a great day and I hope it is filled with unexpected bits of perfection!  Talk to you soon.

10-10-16-9

10-10-16-5

Leave a Reply

