Teenage troubles

Driving to work this morning, and it’s pretty darn cold. Well, for Mississippi anyway. The thermometer in my truck is reading 25°. It doesn’t happen down here all too often. And as I think how cold it is, I have to laugh, next week around this time I will be in the wintry north. I will be, where there is snow on the ground and the winds coming off the lake are bound to be cold. And I can tell you one thing, I am looking so forward to it.

This year has been filled with all kinds of things. It’s been filled with great happiness, awesome adventures, and I’ve probably been the saddest that I’ve been as well. You see, my 17-year-old has taken his brain out, put it on the dresser, and is running around with out a thought to anything that I’ve taught him.  Most of this is because of a girl, some of it is because he’s just like his father, and some of it is because he 17. I am told, that eventually he will come back to being normal, or some semblance of that. At the moment however, I think it might be a contest for for him to see just how deeply the ninth of his words and actions can cut. And let me tell you, sometimes those words and actions have cut me to the bone. My heart has been broken into millions of pieces over this past year. And, unfortunately I don’t see much and in site.

Now, I’m not going to go into a bunch of detail with this, and frankly I haven’t written about it because it kind of hurts too much. But, often times I see a glimmer of hope. And that hope is what I cling too. Other parents of teenagers that are going through this exact same thing or have gone through it tell me that eventually they does their brains off, put them back in their head, and go on with life.  The trick, is getting them there and keeping your relationship intact on the way. So, that’s what I’m going to focus on.

Like I said, this time next week I should be in the great White North. This may or may not be the last Christmas my family spends together, as a family. It just depends on what happens with my 17-year-old son. So, I am going to cherish every memory, every moment, and enjoy every moment that we spent together. So, if you have a 17-year-old that is doing the same thing, I wish you luck. If you don’t, I tell you please cherish every moment you have with your family. You never know when that moment may be the last one.  There are 1 million things that could happen between now and the next moment.  I just don’t want him  To realize that Too late. I don’t want something to happen to me before he realizes how precious family really is. But, it’s kind of out of my control. So, in the event that these are my last moments, I hope that he finds this blog someday and knows how much I truly truly love him.  And no, there is nothing wrong with me, and I am pretty sure I’m going to be here for a long long time. In fact, I fully plan on being one of those crotchety old woman that you see telling everyone just what they think. But, this is life that I’m talking about, and in life, you just never know. All I do know, is that my life is fall because of my children. I love all three of them more than words can fully describe. I hope they know, but in case they don’t, here it is. I love each and everyone of you three more than anything, more than all the clouds in the sky, more than every blade of grass in the entire world, More than every leaf on the tree, and more than every drop of water in the ocean. I have loved you before you were even born, and I will love you long after the day that I die. You are my world, and you are the best things that I have ever done.

Wow, I didn’t intend this post to be quite so morbid, or or sappy. But, just in case, now it’s out there. I do make it a practice to tell everyone in my life as often as I can how much I love them, so I know that they should know. I hope each and everyone of you do the same. Whether it’s a friend, and an old boyfriend, a dog, a cat, a partner, a husband, a wife, or a child. I hope you tell each and everyone of the people that mean something to you every day that you love them. Even if they can’t hear it, or won’t hear it it’s out there and eventually that love will touch them and they will now. I hope each and everyone of you have an amazing day today. And I promise, next time I’ll write about something a little more lighthearted. 

By the way, since I am dictating this into my phone on the way to work, here are a couple of shots that I have on my phone for you today. I hope you enjoy them

Leave a Reply

