Presents!!!

Christmas morning found us in Michigan, with snow on the ground and everyone was ready to open the presents!  We all seemed to feel that we had gotten each other things that would be appreciated.  As we got ready to open presents, Sterling got up to hand out the gifts and picked my one and only gift and handed it to me with a smile on his face.  I looked at their faces and I opened a  brand new camera.  It was the one thing that I had wanted more than any other gift they could have gotten me.  As I thought about it I knew that no matter what I had gotten I would have been happy with it.  That is the thing about presents, it is not really the gift that matters, it is the thought behind it.

I remember one Christmas when I was little and we were poor.  Christmas was coming and my mom didn’t know where the gifts were going to come from.  Christmas morning I opened gifts that were things that had been hers and she gave them to my sister and I.  She made sure that we had something to open.  She made sure that we knew that she loved us and thought enough of us to give us something to open on Christmas.  I think often we forget that.  A gift means you appreciate someone, or something that they have done for you.  A gift means you took the time and thought of them.  Sometimes they may not like it, that has happened with my gifts to my husband at times.  Other times they may love it.  Either way, you put thought into the gift.  My family knows how much I love taking photos and they also know that my camera has been broken for nearly a year.  It was the perfect gift for me.  It shows that they know me very well.

More than the actual gifts was the time I got to spend with them.  After the presents had been opened, Sterling and I walked down to Lake Superior.  It is cold, and the roads are icy, but we stopped for a coffee and made our way to the frozen lake.  Then we stood together and watched as the waves danced up to the shore and crashed into the ice that was already there.  It was an amazing sight and one that I have missed.  As we walked we never ran out of things to talk about and I got that present too.  It is one of my favorites.

Everyone in my family seems pretty happy with their presents…well, except I should have ordered the lights for the RZR for my husband.  LOL, sadly I am NOT a mind reader.  (He ordered them this morning after he opened all his presents, go figure.)  Now he and Spencer are out on the snowmobile trails riding together, making their own memories; another gift.

No matter what happens in the future we have today.  We have this Christmas.  We have these presents, the tangible kind and the intangible kind.  The intangible gifts mean so much more.  We also have each other and that is the greatest and best gift of all.  I wish each and every one of you a very Merry Christmas and hope that you get lots of presents of your own.

Before you go, here are a couple of shots of my Christmas.  I hope you enjoy yours as well.  Tomorrow should begin adventures with my new unbroken Nikon!!!  I can’t wait!

Here I am minus makeup this morning.

15732259_10209285910638095_223391606139456284_o

Walking with Sterling at the Lake

15741280_10209285691792624_5395564163856911051_n

Even the dogs are getting in to the act

15626466_10209285912118132_1143932032648413713_o

 

Leave a Reply

