146 Miles

Today my son and my husband wanted to go riding.  They absolutely love riding and usually want me to come with them.  I didn’t wake up wanting to ride and frankly Rod was irritating me due to a misunderstanding from the night before.  I wasn’t going to go at all.  Then I thought about my resolution to live each day fully and the other one to be more patient.  Not starting off so well.  So, with that thought in mind I started getting ready.  You can’t really live life fully each day if you are spiteful and that is really what I was doing.  You know the old saying, “don’t cut off your nose to spite your face?”  Well, I wasn’t cutting off my nose today.

We started out and the trail and the mood between my husband and myself was a little rough.  Gradually though it got better.  The more we rode the sillier everything seemed. My mood seemed to be swept away by the wind that we were making as we rode.  And we rod today.  We rode a total of 146 miles.  That is 146 memories that I now have with Rod and Sterling.  That is 146 things I wouldn’t have seen had I not gone today.  It is 146 moments spent with my family.  146 miles.  146 miles through some of the most beautiful country that there is in the United States.  146 miles of snowbound scenery that not everyone gets to see.  We took Sterling to Lake of the Clouds,  had a belt break on the way back down, almost ran out of gas, raced across a frozen lake and rode up and down mountains.  Most of all we spent the day together.  Bad times and good times all wrapped up into 146 miles.

Sometimes life gets you down.  Sometimes life is hard.  When it gets bleak for me, now all I will have to do is think about these 146 miles.  Life can change just that fast.  You don’t have to give in and let the bad overtake your day.  You can choose to see the good.  You can choose to change it.  I hope that each of you remember that.  I hope that you all had a wonderful day and that you spent it doing something you love with someone you love.  I did, and it is not a day that I will soon forget.

Until next time, here are a couple of shots from today.  Talk to you again soon!

dsc_0558_fotordsc_0569_fotordsc_0576_fotor

Leave a Reply

