My way or your way

I know I haven’t written in a couple days. Those New Year’s resolutions about writing every day, that’s a hard one to keep.  I really didn’t think it would be. Life just seems to get in the way. Sometimes I’m tired, sometimes I have a bunch of stuff to do. Most of all though, what I really want to do, is just go off have adventures and then tell you guys about it. Unfortunately, none of the other things that I have to do leave lots and lots of time for the things that I really want to do. Life, does go on. The good parts of it, and the bad parts, or maybe bad is not a good word. Maybe I mean the more mundane  parts.

Since I made that New Year’s resolution to write every day, I’m going to let you know that sometimes, when you start to write, you don’t think you have anything to write about. So sometimes, you’re tempted to write about having nothing to write about. Usually what happens with me is that the blog has a mind of its own, and what started out as nothing, eventually becomes something. Thousands of thoughts passed through our heads every day. Some of them, might actually be brilliant. Usually though, my brilliant thoughts are the ones that fly by so fast I barely have time to register that they’re there. And those unfortunately are the thoughts that are forgotten about as the next randomly crazy thought pops into my head. Maybe I’m just different, but I do know that my friend Randy often has the same kind of thoughts. Things just make us think in ways that maybe everybody doesn’t. I guess they used to call that thinking outside the box. I’m not sure what they call it today. Anyway today, is one of those days.  I am sure that some doctor somewhere has a medication for it though.  So far, I’m not quite sure that I’ve had a brilliant thought today. Maybe  I had several and just was too tired to realize it. Maybe when I was exercising, I had the one thought that would cure cancer or bring about world peace. Unfortunately, that thought just flew by as the instructor on the DVD said kick  your leg!

Our minds work and strange and wonderful ways. The things that I think about, and the ways that I think about them, are totally different than the way that you think about things. Although, I will tell you that my husband found someone yesterday that was a little bit like me in a very odd way. My grandma, who everybody knows that I loved more than anything, decided when I was younger that I should not be left-handed. I was left-handed, and she decided we needed to switch me. She always said that this is a right-handed person’s world. And for the most part she was right. Most things are geared towards people that use their right-hand predominately. The poor lefties of the world often get left out. Forgive the pun. So, she switched me.  The process was long, but left only one lasting mark that most people can see. I have trouble differentiating between right and left. If you are riding in a car with me and I need to give you directions about somewhere to go, and you ask, which way do I turn? My answer to you will surely be either your way or my way.  Now your way on my way has served me very well over the years. Keep in mind that your way is not necessarily left and it’s not necessarily right. It just depends on where I am sitting in the vehicle at the time. My way could very well be left, but if I’m a passenger my way would tend to be right. Until people get to know me, and ride with me frequently, they become very confused and flustered by these directions. I find them very clear. Turn your way, or go my way. I don’t see what’s so confusing about it. However, people that have always been right-handed would rather say right or left. Directions and I just do not get along. I think it has something to do with the fact that left-handed people use a different side of the brain then right-handed people. And while I am predominately right-handed, I do a lot of things left-handed. For example, I can write with both hands. It may not be quite as neat as the other hand, my right hand, however I can do it. My left hand often times is my stronger hand as far as leverage goes. I drive with my left hand. And I’m sure there are countless other little things that right-handed people don’t do. My brain just works a little bit differently than most. So, my husband was in Baton Rouge yesterday and was taking a lady to pick out some tile for her kitchen. He asked her which way to turn and out of that woman’s mouth pop the words, “you have to go my way up here.”  I am sure that She sat there , Expecting him to question her or look at her askance, when in fact he burst out laughing. You see, my husband has been going either your way or my way with me for over 20 years. That man knew exactly what that woman was talking about. I hope, that in some small way it made her feel good. Because, it can be kind of embarrassing when those words pop out of your mouth and someone looks at you like you’re a crazy person. I may be a little bit crazy in a lot of things I do, I just don’t like people looking at me like I’m crazy. I think all of us are a little bit crazy when it comes right down to it.  And actually, maybe all the right-handed people in the world would benefit from heading my way, or going your way. Might be something a little bit different to try. Couldn’t hurt anyway.  maybe we should all think a little bit outside the right and left handed box. Your way or my way let’s just go together.

Well, at any rate, this is been nothing but a long rambling post. I’m not sure this brilliance in here anywhere. Maybe, just maybe, there is a little bit of something for someone to think about. I hope so. I hope each and everyone of you have a brilliant day today, I do believe it’s Friday, so that’s always a good thing. I’ll be working tomorrow, but, I know for sure there is an adventure planned for me on Sunday. Sterling and I are going to take a walk, and  see a little bit of history. I’ll tell you all about it next week.

Here are a couple quick shots, I don’t think that you’ve seen these before. But, forgive me if you had. The one is Felix after getting a haircut, and the other is a beautiful cloud that I saw outside of work one night last week before a storm. Look for beauty and laughter and you will find them. Have a great day everyone. 

Leave a Reply

