Happy Valentine’s Day

Well, it’s February 14 again. That means that it’s Valentine’s Day. Today’s the day when everyone thinks that they should show the person that they love how much they love them. People expect presents, and there will be lots of dinners eaten together, and hopefully love will be spread all around. My husband, hopefully, should be coming home today.  I haven’t seen that man in a week, and it’s about time for him to bring his butt home. Even though he’ll only be here for a day, until he flies out with my youngest son to Michigan tomorrow.  He and Sterling are going to spend the next few days snowmobiling. Sounds like a pretty good Valentine’s Day present for him.

He always gets me something. Whether it’s flowers, or something else, he make sure that he gets me something. I guess I kind of go the other way. I don’t do the Valentine’s Day gift. Now, I always will make him a nice supper, and spend time with him. Which to my mind, as often times a lot better than anything I could possibly buy him since he spent so little time at home. I guess I just feel like I try and show him how much I love him every day of the year, and I don’t want it to be centralized to just one day. I try and treat him how I imagine a husband should be treated. Now, I’m not perfect. Sometimes I fail at that. Sometimes, I’m really grumpy and really mad at him and sometimes I am just mean to him. But, I don’t think I’m any different than hundreds of other women out there maybe thousands, who knows. Overall though, I hope that man knows how much I love him. I hope that man knows that he is the only person that I want to grow old with. I hope at the end of the day that my husband knows that I would choose him again and again and again. I would choose to be his wife all over again. Marriage isn’t easy.  I don’t remember anyone ever promising me it would be. Movies, television, stories and in general society tells us that it should be. We think that when we find that person that we want to marry, that it’s going to be some fairytale. Or, at least I kind of did. And then you realize, that you have to make your own fairytale.  Marriages work, marriage is pain, and marriage is heartbreak and suffering. But marriage is also joy, and love, and long lasting memories   Marriage is also getting to have a life with your other half, growing old with someone who loves you no matter how mean you can be to them, And spending the rest of your life with someone that knows you probably better than you know  yourself.

This Valentine’s Day, my husband is coming home. He more than likely has a gift for me, and it’s probably something that I will really like. When he gets home, I’ll probably cook him something that he’ll enjoy, and just spend time with him. I’ll take the time to listen to the things that are important to him, pack him up, and send him off to his snowmobile vacation with Sterling. But most of all, I will let my husband know just how much he means to me. I will spend Valentine’s Day letting my husband know how much I love him. Maybe not with a fancy card, or an expensive gift, but with my heart. I think that’s the biggest gift of all. That man continually gets the gift of my heart, and that’s something that is very fragile and irreplaceable. And it’s something I would freely and gladly give to him again and again.

I hope everyone has a very happy Valentine’s Day. I hope you get exactly what you hope for, and I hope that you take the time to show someone just how much you love them. Whether it’s through a gift, a kind word, a song, or just spending time with someone. Have a great day everyone and I’ll talk to you soon.

And because it is Valentine’s Day, I am going to share with you pictures of my three Valentines.

N

Leave a Reply

