Busy busy

Good morning everyone! Driving to work, and it’s Saturday, and it’s also pretty much the first day all week that it hasn’t been cold. Not cold like Iowa gets, or the UP, but just Mississippi cold. If you’re from Mississippi or have ever visited you know the kind of cold I mean. It’s damp, and it’s in the 40s, and it’s gloomy, And you just can’t seem to warm up all day. By now, we’re pretty spoiled. We really haven’t had much of a winter, so this last cold snap felt really cold. We’ve had 80° days sprinkled in there this winter. Sure was nice. Anyway, I kind of got off track. I’m headed to work. Tomorrow, i’ll be heading off on a Sunday drive, after I help my husband fix the doors and paint the doors and everything else I have to do. I’m trying to find my new rhythm, because life has gotten so unbelievably busy in a good way.

This morning for example, my alarm went off at 4:45 and I knew it was Saturday, so I got up I shut it off, and since my husband is home I climbed back up in the bed snuggled back up to him, and promptly fell right back to sleep. Luckily for me, his phone rang at five minutes till seven. At that point, my eyes popped open and I said “oh shit!”  Even with getting up late, which I thoroughly enjoyed, I still managed to get everything done. It wasn’t in the order that I normally do it, but I got it done. So, I’m trying to find my new rhythm. I went to bed last night thinking about what time I actually have to get up to get everything done that I have to do in a day.  So, this morning as I’m driving I’m thinking do I really have to do all that in a day? And the answer is, no. I really don’t have to do all of that in one day. However, I feel like I need to. No, scratch that I want to. I want to have time to work out and be healthy, I want to have chickens, and so I have to find time to Feed them and water them, I have to find time somewhere in my day to work on things for Rod’s business, I have to go to work, and I want to take pictures and write newspaper articles. So, I have to find some sort of rhythm. My friend Randy understands, he says that I am a routine oriented person. I think that’s good, because that way I know what is going on. I know that I can get everything done that I need to get done. I also think it’s kind of bad, because when my routine gets thrown off I kind of feel off for the rest of the day. So, that really doesn’t leave much room for spontaneity. And I do try and be spontaneous too. I guess it’s just another thing that shows my own special brand of uniqueness. Some people would call it craziness, and I’m OK with that.

Most people at this time in their lives, I looking forward to slowing down. The kids are going to be leaving soon, and I’m getting older, and I shouldn’t be wanting to do as much. Now, not me, I’m just getting started! Even if we move away and I never write another newspaper article again, I’m never going to stop with my camera. I’m never going to stop having to do things for Rod, I’m never going to stop wanting to be in shape, because I want to be able to hike in the Porcupine mountains, I want to be able to jump from rock to rock on waterfalls, I want to be able to play with my grandkids, and I want to be able to live life. Whether it’s in a routine, or spontaneous and without a plan, I want to be able to take whatever life throws at me. So, I guess I’ll stay busy.  And, to be honest, some of my busyness is quite relaxing. I can’t think of anything more relaxing than a Sunday adventure! And, I’m going to try and fit one in tomorrow, because I have a newspaper article to write. I hope each and everyone of you have an amazing day. I hope you spend it doing exactly what you want to do, and if you can’t well I hope you throw a little bit of what you want to do in there somewhere.  Here a few shots that you may or may not of seen before. And I’ll talk to you all soon!

Leave a Reply

