The Dance

I have to drive to work every day, at least a half an hour. Driving time for me is thinking time. I guess you probably figured that out, since I do most of my posts by dictating them into my iPhone as I drive. LOL. At least it is a time that I’m putting to good use, Or using it any rate.  Sometimes songs on the radio make me think about things.  I mean, I know that I’ve talked about this before. Trisha Yearwood’s  song for instance, The Song Remembers When. That is such a true song that it amazes me every time I hear it. Some songs make you cry, some songs make you laugh, and some songs make you think about things.

Well, as I was driving, Garth Brooks song The Dance came on the radio. Now I’m not sure if you’ve ever really listen to that song, but the chorus says something like this:

And now I’m glad I didn’t know
The way it all would end the way it all would go
Our lives are better left to chance I could have missed the pain
But I’d have had to miss the dance

If you really think about those words, they are so true. When I grew up, I got kicked out of my house when I was 16. A lot of that was my fault, but I got kicked out nonetheless. And I ended up marrying my first husband, Chuck. That didn’t work out, and that is a fact, but I got my beautiful daughter Lianna out of it.  When I left with Chuck I was young and scared and had no idea what life was like.  When I left Chuck I was a little wiser and had more experiences and a big responsibility in a small package and so I had to figure life out pretty quickly.

Then I moved on, and I met my boyfriend Russ. Russ and I were together for five years, and that didn’t work out either. But, Russ led me to my husband Rod. And, it was just what I needed at the time. I still have fond memories of both of them, they were both exactly what I needed when I needed them and being with them taught me a lot and shaped me partly into who I am today. Now, both relationships ended, and both times my heart got broke. But, if I hadn’t gone through the hurt I wouldn’t be where I am now. And where I am now is in a marriage that has gone on for over 20 years to a man that must have been hand picked exclusively for me.

Even after 20 years, there are times that there is pain, but there’s a lot of times that are equisitely beautiful. This dance with my husband for the last 21 years, has been the best dance that I have ever had. I would never have been here had I not gone through the other things. Had I not had Chuck, who’s to say I would’ve found Russ, and if I hadn’t had Russ, who’s to say that I would’ve ever found Rod. And Rodney is where I was supposed to end up.  There was a time before him, but there will be no other after him. So yes, our lives are one big game of chance. And in the end, that’s it. You take a chance. You take a risk, your heart gets broken or it doesn’t, but in the end it’s all worth it.  The sweetest moments in my life have come about because I took a chance. Like Mr. Brooks says in his song, I could’ve missed the pain, but I’d have had to miss the dance. I wouldn’t give up one moment with any one in my past ormy presents for anything. The pain and the heartbreak, well they lead to the sweetest moments in life.  They can  lead to bliss.

Today, I just want to leave you with one thought. Go out, take a chance. Live your life, give your heart to someone. It might get broke, but you might have the sweetest longest dance that you could ever imagine. And in the end it’s totally worth it! I hope everyone out there has a great day, and I’ll talk to you soon. Oh and by the way, here are a couple shots that you may or may not have seen before. I hope you enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

