People

In the grand scheme of things, I have not really been alive all that long. 46 years is really just a blink of an eye. However, during my time here on this earth I have seen some changes. Some of the changes were good, and some of them just make me scratch my head and wonder what people are thinking. The other day, I was having a conversation with someone and the subject of gay people came up. Well, I have a sister who is happily married to a transsexual. She is gay, always has been. And I have never had a problem with it. I myself, I’m strictly heterosexual. And I thought that was how I presented myself. And then the person that I was talking to told me that I look gay.

OK, hold up. First off how do gay people even look. And secondly, why would she even begin to think that I should be lumped in with one certain group or another. Not that I care, but it got me to thinking. She said that I looked gay. I’m assuming that she didn’t mean happy, because I do try and look happy most of the time. However, apparently there is some certain way that gay women look. I was previously unaware of this fact, but according to this person I will enlighten us all. Apparently, because I choose to wear jeans and T-shirts and tennis shoes a lot of the time I look at. And further along her train of thought, is the fact that I wear my hair short. Apparently, that also makes me look at. Now, here’s the funny part. My sister, the one who is really gay, loves dresses. She’s a very pretty girl, loves doing hair and make up, and has long hair. So, that is one example of this whole stereotype being wrong.

At the end of the day, that’s really what it is a stereotype. When I was younger, I like to wear this crazy black leather jacket with fringe on it. I thought it was so cool. However, when I went into department stores, the security guard automatically seem to think that I was going to steal something. I had more than enough money in my pocket to purchase whatever I wanted, however, the security guard in at least one store that I caught onto felt the need to follow me and watch me. Simply because I was wearing jeans tennis shoes and a leather jacket with French on it. Another example, I am a woman, I think we’ve established that, and therefore a lot of times people think that I really don’t know what I’m talking about when it comes to things of a mechanical nature.  That is another stereotype that sadly has been thrust upon me and is also wrong. I can take my chainsaw part and sharpen the blade and clean it, oh yeah by the way I can actually use a chainsaw properly. I can change my own oil, I choose not to. I can and have constructed things. And I know how certain things on motors work, and I can help you pick out the perfect motorcycle for you. So, I am a little mechanical.  My point with this little diatribe is that people are just people. Judging people based on their appearance, is a very very bad mistake to make. I have known people that were worth millions of dollars, and they dressed in the dirtiest clothes that I’ve ever seen.

At the end of the day, if you simply treat other people the way you want to be treated, and try not to judge them until you get to know them, you might actually be surprised at who you find. Again, people are just people. There are some that are bad, there are some that are good, there are some that are trashy, there are some that are snobby, there are some that are struggling, there are some that are gay, there are some that are straight, and there are some that haven’t got them selves all figured out yet. I think that last bit is where most of us Paul. Give everyone a chance, I try to give people three chances. Everyone I meet has three chances to show me what kind of person they are.  And no, I don’t wear dresses all the time, it would be kind of silly to try and sell someone a motorcycle wearing a dress. Or, wearing a dress and feeding my chickens just doesn’t seem to go together in my mind. I like to be comfortable. If that makes me look gay, then I have to say the gay people must be pretty damn practical.  I know that the stereotype that I got from this person is simply because she’s young. She hasn’t got everything figured out yet. She is actually really cool person, and if people judge her by the impression that she leaves they’d be missing out. I hope, that sooner rather than later she will learn that people are so much more than how they appear.

I hope each and everyone of you have a great day today. I’m going to leave you with a couple of photos that I know you haven’t seen before. I’m actually getting out more with my camera. I have missed it oh so much. And, pretty soon I will be in Michigan, and the pictures will be flowing! 

Leave a Reply

