Home Improvements

Today Rod decided that since we can’t all ride we should build the railing around the back deck and put together the patio furniture.  The only thing was I was elected to go back to Menards for 10 more 2x4s.  The closest Menards is 1 1/2 hours away.   Sterling and I set off and an adventure was born.

There is a waterfall that I have been trying to get to for 2 years now.  It is on the way to Menards so I thought we would just slip in there and run up to the waterfall, snap a few shots and be on our way…well, it didn’t quite work that way. We made it to Menards and had to wait in line for another person getting lumber.  Once we finally got the lumber we headed back toward home.  As we passed through rain multiple times I began to think that maybe we should not stop.  Then Rod called and told us that we shouldn’t “lollygag” and that he needed our help with the deck.  The waterfall was still calling us though.  So, we pulled into the parking area.  The waterfall was a 1.3 miles from the parking area and we only had a short time but we overestimated our hiking speed and tried it anyway.  We got about half way and decided to turn around, the trail was muck and it was slowing us down.  Maybe next time, when we are not pressed for time.

We finally made it home with the lumber and the guys had one side of the railing done.  So, we helped them with a large section of the second side and once that was done, Sterling and I started putting the furniture together.

After a long day of working together we ended with an almost finished deck and patio furniture that we could enjoy.  It reminds me how nice it can be to complete a project as a family.  Working with them is one of the greatest joys of my life.  Even when I disagree with them I never tire of spending time with all my guys.  That is something that we don’t get to do nearly enough of any more.  As they get older the boys have begun their own lives and these moments are precious to me.

At any rate, the deck is mostly done, Sterling and I got the furniture together and today can be marked as a big check mark in the accomplished column.  Hopefully tomorrow I will have  some awesome photos for you.  See you all soon!

DSC_2115_FotorDSC_2112DSC_2102

Leave a Reply

