More driving thoughts

This morning, I’m driving to work with Oscar and thinking about my weekend. Monday morning is usually the time that I process everything that happened over the weekend and it was a pretty good one, it was filled with uncertainty of coarse and laughter and work and all the other things that make up a life. But there were a couple of things that stood out.

I have a friend who for whatever reason was treated poorly somewhere this weekend and they will probably not go back to the place the treated them poorly. I can’t say as I blame them. Then I hear stories of people in Meridian Mississippi reaching out to hurricane victims and helping them. giving them whatever they can and helping them find a place to stay. That shows the good in people. And then I hear a story that one of my children’s friends stood by and watched a young man hold a gun to a six-year-old child’s head and rob him of his iPhone and a dollar, and this happened in a town not too far from me.

Today is also September 11. That’s a day that means a great deal to people in my country. It’s a day that we were attacked by people that hate us for whatever reason. I can’t help but wonder on this day, if perhaps that Day finished stripping away the decency and honor and integrity most of us used have as second nature. Many still have those core qualities, but sadly many do not. I know we lost a lot of our innocence that day. I know we came face-to-face with the fact that most people don’t like us. Whether it is Because of our religious beliefs , because they think we are arrogant, or just because we have more than they do. The reason never really matters, only the outcomes do. We’ve gone on so long in our lives just thinking about ourselves, how to get ahead and how we think we need to buy the next big thing, I think that we have forgotten that at the end of the day were all people. We all have hopes and dreams no matter what they are, and instead of helping one another often times we try and squash another person’s hopes or dreams. You see, if others don’t fulfill their hopes and dreams maybe it makes us feel like there’s more room and more possibility for us to fulfill ours. Such a shame.

September 11 was a horrible day, and a lot of people died for absolutely no reason whatsoever. Every day since then it seems like I have watched our Nation slide deeper and deeper into depravity. I’m not exactly sure what country I’m living in anymore some days. So, I guess the only thing I can do, and the only thing each of us can do is get up each day, try and remember to treat everyone the way that we wish we could be treated, and live. Maybe if just a few of us try and do our very best to treat our fellow man in a good way, it will start a chain reaction. Maybe I’m naïve, and I most certainly am, but I have hope. If you have hope then there’s nothing that you can’t do. Hope is like fuel for the human spirit. It’ll keep you going on long time after people say that you should’ve laid down and given up. There is goodness in all people, we just have to find it. There is greatness in each and everyone of us, and it is so easily achievable, we just have to want to put in the work and go for it. Is it easy to be nice to someone that’s being ugly to you, of course not! Is it easy to try and reason with someone who’s being unreasonable, of course not. Is it easy to see something from someone else’s point of view when you are absolutely certain that you are right? Of course not. But it’s the right thing to do. Sometimes I have to remind myself that maybe an unreasonable person may just be having a bad day. I know we can all do it, I know that if we try we can make this world A place where we’re really proud to live. We can start small, we could start just by being the best person that we can be. Not the best money maker, not the best at finishing first, but the best person. Be someone that everyone wants to be like. Be a genuinely good person.

But, LOL, sometimes I actually forget that people just really don’t want to be that way anymore. So there we go again, with my worn out and outdated morals and beliefs. LOL oh well, it was worth thinking about! I hope each and everyone of you have an amazing day. I hope that you are the very best that you can be today. I hope that you each find something wonderful to remember on this day to replace any bad memories that you have. I know that I haven’t written a lot lately, Oscar has taken a lot of work. But, he is now nine weeks old, and car rides to work are a little bit easier. So, I’ll leave you with a few photos that you may or may not have seen before. I hope you all have an amazing day!

Leave a comment